Raw Vegan Recipe: Red Pepper Tomato Soup

Raw vegan soup with a heart!

It’s raw vegan soup with a heart! I’ve been wanting to use a heart stencil with my food for a few days now. I was going to wait until I did something fancy like a cake or a pie but I couldn’t help myself. If you’re wondering what that stuff is on my soup, it’s a bit of raw vegan parmesan.

I make this soup, or a variation of it, all the time. This week I was especially lucky to find a bag of red peppers AND a bag of tomatoes on the sale rack at my grocery store, so I’ll be eating several batches of it. Yes, it is made with orange juice; the flavour blends in really nicely and doesn’t make it taste to “fruity” at all. The spices can be mixed around to suit your tastes, this recipe is just a guideline!

Red Pepper Tomato Soup
Makes 2-4 Servings

2 red peppers, seeded and chopped
1 cup orange juice
2 Tbsp light miso
1 clove garlic
2-3 tomatoes, cut out the stem bit
2 scallions, cut off the roots
1/4 cup parsley
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp cumin
cracked black pepper

In a blender or food process blend the peppers, orange juice, miso, and garlic until smooth. This is the base of the soup.

Add the rest of the ingredients and pulse until chopped up, but not entirely smooth.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Emily said,

    I am interested in trying out more raw foods in my diet. Thanks for the recipe =)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

